IndiaFilings » Learn » State Governments » RAJSSP


Rajasthan Social Security Pension Scheme (RAJSSP)


RAJSSP or Rajasthan Social Security Pension is a pension scheme launched by the State Government of Rajasthan for the welfare of their desolated residents. The prime objective of this scheme is to ensure the social security of the needy and thus financially support them for their survival. The people who benefit from this scheme include senior citizens, destitute widows and disabled people. However, to avail these benefits, one must have been born and registered as citizen and member of Rajasthan State.

Rajasthan Social Security Pension Scheme

The Social Justice and Empowerment Department, (SJED) Government of Rajasthan has various schemes merged in RAJSSP wherein the total payment of the scheme is sponsored together by the Central Government and the State Government. The schemes are listed below.

Central Government Sponsored Pension Schemes

  1. Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS)
  2. Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS)
  3. Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS)

RAJSSPState Government Sponsored Pension Schemes

  1. State Old Age Pension Scheme (SOAPS)
  2. State Widow Pension Scheme (SWPS)
  3. State Disability Pension Scheme (SDPS)

Eligibility Criteria for RAJSSP

The following are the eligibility criteria for availing pension under the RAJSSP scheme:

Eligibility for State Pension Plan

Scheme Requirements Annual Income
SOAPS Women Above 55 years of Age
Men Above 58 years of Age
Below Rs.48000
SWPS A widow or Divorced Women Above 18 years of Age Below Rs.48000
SDPS A person with 40% of Disabilities of any age is eligible.
A person with Dwarf Hijra (3 feet 6 inches) of height is also eligible.
Below Rs.60000

Eligibility for National Pension Plan

Scheme Requirements Annual Income
IGNOAPS Women or Men Above 60 years of Age Below Poverty Line (BPL)
IGNWPS Widow Women Above 40 years of Age Below Poverty Line (BPL)
IGNDPS A person with above 18 years and 80% of Disability. Below Poverty Line (BPL)

Applying for RAJSSP

An applicant for RAJSSP pension can apply either offline or online. A copy of the online application form is given below:


The necessary documents to be submitted during enrollment are:

  • The identification proof
  • The date of birth proof
  • Bank account details
  • Proof of income

Eligible candidates are selected after the verification of the documents.

Steps in Verification Process

The following are significant steps in the verification process of RAJSSP scheme:

Step 1: The pensioners have to reach the “Sub Divisional Office or Block Development Office” of their respective locality and submit an application.

Step 2: The application verification authority “Tahsildar or Naib Tahsildar” would verify the application and forward it for sanction authority.

Step 3: The “Sanction Authority” in “SDO or BDO” would cross-check the verified application and forwards the sanction order to the disbursement authority.

Step 4: Disbursement authority is a “Treasury or Sub-Treasury Office” which receive the sanction order and initiate the payment to the beneficiary.

Note: While applying, the candidates have to mention the “Mode of Payment” through which he or she wish to receive pension every month.