IndiaFilings » Learn » Legal » International Driving Licence

International Driving Licence


International Driving Licence – Application Procedure

An Indian citizen planning to travel abroad and drive a car or motorbike in a foreign country can obtain an International Driving Licence or International Driving Permit from the local RTO office. International Driving License is a translated copy of the original driver’s Licence that is issued by State transport licensing authority in India. In all states of India, International Driving License is issued by the concerned RTO office or Motor Vehicle Department.

With an international driver’s Licence, an Indian can rent/drive vehicles when they are visiting a foreign country. All foreign nationals visiting our country are also requested to apply for this licence. A foreigner with a valid International driving licence can drive in India during their stay here. In this article, we look at the procedure for obtaining an International Driving Licence in India.

Advantages of International Driving Licence

International Driving Licence has many advantages, which are listed below:

  • International driving licence can be used as proof of identity documents in many countries.
  • International Driving Licence is proof that a person has a valid driver’s licence in the country in which it was issued. It also certifies that he/she can drive in a foreign country.
  • Multiple languages printed in International Driving Licence make it very useful for other country authorities to verify the holders’ information.
  • International Driving Licence can help Indians rent a car and drive in a foreign country.

International Driving Licence is printed in various languages including English, Spanish, French, Russian, Chinese, Arabic, Portuguese, Scandinavian languages and others.

International Driving Licence Validity

Over 150 countries in the world accept the International Driving Licence and allow Indians to rent and drive vehicles in their country.

International Driving Licence will be valid for a period of one year from the date of issue, as the case may be, or till the validity of the driving licence, whichever is earlier. Both the International Driving Licence and a valid India driving license would be required to drive abroad. International Driving Licence issued in India cannot be renewed, a new application is required.

International Driving Licence Application

International Driving Permit can be issued to a person who holds a valid Indian Licence and valid Indian Passport. The fee for an international driving licence in most States is fixed at Rs. 1000 per licence and also Rs.200 to be paid as processing fee. The applicant will have to make the payment at the time of submitting the documents and application form. A sample application form for international driving license is reproduced below:

International Driving License Application Form

International Driving Licence – Document Required

The below-required documents are to be submitted to RTO to get International Driving Licence.

  • Valid driving Licence and its copies.
  • Recent passport size photographs – 3 Nos.
  • Valid proof such as Passport and its copies
  • Proof of Visa  and its copies
  • Copy of Air ticket for verification
  • Receipt for payment of fees
  • An application for IDL in Form – 4A
  • Medical certificate in Form 1A

Procedure to Apply for International Driving Licence Online

The Kerala Government has made the application process for International Driving Licence online. You can follow the steps below to prepare the application. However, the application must be submitted in person to the concerned RTO office. In most states, the applicant would have to appear at the RTO office for issue of  International Driving Licence.

Step 1: For apply online visit Kerala’s Motor Vehicle Department official website.

Step 2: Select the RTO name for which the application is to be filed.

Step 3: Enter your licence number in the given boxes correctly

Step 4: Select the date of birth or enter in the format ‘dd/mm/yyyy’

Step 5: Click on the ‘GO’ Button

Your Licence details will be displayed. If any serious mistakes other than spelling mistakes are found or your Licence details are not displayed you should contact the concerned RT/Sub RT Office immediately for correction.

Step 6: Click Next Button

Step 7: Fill up additional requirements if any asked by the computer and click apply

Step 8: Get an application Number and  take the printout of a full set of applications (Form 4A & Form 1A)

Step 9: Submit the printed forms with fee/pay receipt at concerned RT Office along with the document mentioned above.

International Driving Licence Processing Time

The processing time to get International Driving Licence after submission of documents is generally 1 to 7 working days.

Countries Accepting International Driving Licence

The following countries accept an International Driving Permit.

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Algeria
  3. Angola
  4. Argentina
  5. Armenia
  6. Australia
  7. Bahamas
  8. Bahrain
  9. Bangladesh
  10. Belarus
  11. Belize
  12. Benin
  13. Bhutan
  14. Bolivia
  15. Bosnia
  16. Botswana
  17. Brunei
  18. Bulgaria
  19. Burkina Faso
  20. Cameroon
  21. Canada
  22. Cape Verde
  23. Central African Republic
  24. Chad
  25. Chile
  26. Colombia
  27. Comoros
  28. Congo (Democratic Republic of)
  29. Congo (Republic of)
  30. Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  31. Czech Republic
  32. Djibouti
  33. Dominica
  34. Dominican Republic
  35. Egypt
  36. El Salvador
  37. Equatorial Guinea
  38. Eritrea
  39. Ethiopia
  40. Gabon
  41. Gambia
  42. Georgia
  43. Ghana
  44. Guadeloupe
  45. Guam
  46. Guatemala
  47. Guinea Bissau
  48. Guinea Republic
  49. Guyana
  50. Haiti
  51. Honduras
  52. Hong Kong
  53. Hungary
  54. Iceland
  55. India
  56. Indonesia
  57. Iran
  58. Israel
  59. Italy
  60. Japan
  61. Jordan
  62. Kazakhstan
  63. Kenya
  64. Kiribati
  65. Korea (South)
  66. Kuwait
  67. Laos
  68. Lebanon
  69. Lesotho
  70. Liberia
  71. Libya
  72. Macao (Macau)
  73. Macedonia
  74. Madagascar
  75. Malawi
  76. Malaysia
  77. Mali
  78. Mauritania
  79. Mauritius
  80. Mexico
  81. Montenegro
  82. Mozambique
  83. Myanmar (Burma)
  84. Namibia
  85. Nepal
  86. New Caledonia
  87. Nicaragua
  88. Niger
  89. Nigeria
  90. Oman
  91. Pakistan
  92. Panama
  93. Papua New Guinea
  94. Paraguay
  95. Philippines
  96. Portugal
  97. Qatar
  98. Reunion
  99. Russian Federation
  100. Rwanda
  101. Sabah (Malaysia)
  102. Sao Tome and Principe
  103. Saudi Arabia
  104. Senegal
  105. Serbia
  106. Seychelles
  107. Sierra Leone
  108. Singapore
  109. South Africa
  110. Spain (including Balearic and Canary Isles)
  111. Sri Lanka
  112. St. Lucia
  113. St. Vincent
  114. Sudan
  115. Surinam
  116. Swaziland
  117. Syria
  118. Taiwan
  119. Tanzania
  120. Thailand
  121. Togo
  122. Trinidad & Tobago
  123. Tunisia
  124. Turkey
  125. Uganda
  126. Ukraine
  127. United Arab Emirates
  128. USA
  129. Yemen
  130. Zambia
  131. Zimbabwe