IndiaFilings » Learn » Where to find details for all class at once place?

Where to find details for all class at once place?

Where to find details for all class at once place

Where to find details for all class at once place?

When applying for a trademark, it is important to identify the appropriate class for the product or service you are registering, as the trademark is only valid for the class of goods or services it is registered in. Finding all the details for all class can be difficult, in this article learn where you can find all the class details in one place.

In India, the Office of the Controller General of Patents, Designs, and Trademarks (CGPDTM) is the authority responsible for registering and protecting trademarks. They have categorised all trademarks into 45 classes of goods and services. To apply for trademark registration, you must know the class of goods and services your trademark applies to. This helps the CGPDTM process your application as they can quickly identify which class your trademark belongs to.

What is Trademark?

A trademark is a sign, design, phrase, or word distinguishing your goods or services from your competitors. Registration of a trademark gives the owner a legal right to exclusive use of the mark for the goods or services it is registered for. Any business needs to register and protect its trademarks as it helps to create a unique identity and brand recognition. A trademark also prevents others from using your mark without your permission and gives you the right to take legal action against them.

What is Trademark Class?

Trademark Class in India is a classification system categorising different products and services for trademark registration. It is based on the terms used in the International Classification of Goods and Services, also known as NICE and is governed by the Trade Marks Rules, 2002. The rules define 45 different classes of goods and services, which are divided into two categories: Classes 1-34 and 35-45.

Classification of Goods and Services
Classification of Goods and Services

Finding Trademark Class

The NICE Classification system, developed by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), is an internationally accepted way of categorizing goods and services protected by trademarks. This system is used by trademark offices around the world, including CGPDTM. The NICE Classification system is divided into 45 classes, each covering different types of goods and services. The classes are divided into two broad categories: (1) Classes 1-34 cover goods; and (2) Classes 35-45 cover services. Each class is further divided into subclasses, which allow for a more precise classification of goods and services.


Visit the WIPO website to find information about trademark classes in the NICE classification system. A list of all 45 classes and their corresponding subclasses there. You can also find an alphabetical index of all goods and services covered by the NICE Classification system. This index can be used to quickly look up the class number of a particular type of goods or services.

Finally, it’s important to remember that the NICE Classification system is international. This means that it’s used by countries worldwide, even if they have their national classification system. As such, the classes and subclasses found in the NICE system may not be the same as those used by your home country. It’s always important to double-check the classification information you find to make sure it is correct for the country in which you are registering your trademark.