IndiaFilings » Learn » Transport and Marketing Assistance (TMA)

Transport and Marketing Assistance (TMA)

Transport and Marketing Assistance (TMA)

Transport and Marketing Assistance (TMA)

The scheme of Transport and Marketing Assistance (TMA) for Specified Agricultural Products was introduced as a means of providing assistance for the international component of freight and marketing of agricultural produce. The initiative is set to mitigate the drawback of higher transportation costs while exporting certain agricultural products, which results from transhipment. In addition to this, it would promote brand recognition for Indian agricultural products in the specified overseas markets. Notably, the scheme also finds its place in the Foreign Trade Policy of 2015-20.

Validity and Coverage

The scheme could be availed by exporters from the 1st March 2019 and is valid until the 31st of March 2020. It is extended to all exporters of eligible agricultural products who are duly registered with the concerned Export Promotion Council as per the Foreign Trade Policy. The assistance would be rendered as per the notified rates for the export of specific agricultural produce (as mentioned in HSN chapter 1-24) to permissible countries (specified on a frequent basis) and is only applicable if the payments for the same are received in Free Foreign Exchange through normal banking channels. Products not covered under this scheme include live animals, milk, cream, animal origin products, curd, buttermilk, rice, wheat, tobacco, garlic, etc.

Note – the scheme is only applicable for exports made through EDI (Electronic Data Interchange) ports. It also covers freight and marketing assistance for export by air and sea.

Eligible Countries

The following regions and export destinations/countries are considered eligible for assistance under the scheme:

West Africa

  1. Benin
  2. Mali
  3. Burkina Faso
  4. Mauritania
  5. Ivory Coast, Niger
  6. Cape Verde

European Union (EU)

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Austria
  4. Belgium
  5. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Croatia
  8. Cyprus
  9. Czech Republic
  10. Denmark
  11. Estonia
  12. Finland
  13. France
  14. Germany
  15. Greece
  16. Hungary
  17. Iceland
  18. Ireland
  19. Italy
  20. Kosovo
  21. Latvia
  22. Liechtenstein
  23. Lithuania
  24. Luxemburg
  25. Macedonia
  26. Malta
  27. Monaco
  28. Montenegro
  29. Netherlands
  30. Norway
  31. Poland
  32. Portugal
  33. Romania
  34. San Marino
  35. Serbia
  36. Slovakia
  37. Slovenia
  38. Spain
  39. Sweden
  40. Switzerland
  41. Turkey
  42. United Kingdom
  43. Vatican City

Gulf Countries

  1. Bahrain
  2. Kuwait
  3. Oman
  4. Qatar
  5. Saudi Arabia
  6. United Arab Emirates (UAE)

North America

  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Bahamas
  3. Barbados
  4. Belize
  5. Canada
  6. Costa Rica
  7. Dominica
  8. Dominican Republic
  9. El Salvador
  10. Grenada
  11. Guatemala
  12. Haiti
  13. Honduras
  14. Jamaica
  15. Mexico
  16. Nicaragua
  17. Panama
  18. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  19. Saint Lucia
  20. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  21. Trinidad and Tobago
  22. United States of America


  1. Brunei Darussalam
  2. Cambodia
  3. Indonesia
  4. Laos
  5. Malaysia
  6. Myanmar
  7. Philippines
  8. Singapore
  9. Thailand
  10. Vietnam

Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

  1. Armenia
  2. Azerbaijan
  3. Belarus
  4. Estonia
  5. Georgia
  6. Kazakhstan
  7. Kyrgyzstan
  8. Latvia
  9. Moldova
  10. Russia
  11. Tajikistan
  12. Turkmenistan
  13. Ukraine
  14. Uzbekistan

Far East

  1. Japan
  2. North Korea
  3. South Korea


  1. Australia
  2. Fiji
  3. Kiribati
  4. Marshall Islands
  5. Micronesia
  6. Nauru
  7. New Zealand
  8. Palau
  9. Papua New Guinea
  10. Samoa
  11. Solomon Islands
  12. Tonga
  13. Tuvalu
  14. Vanuatu


  1. PRC China
  2. Hong Kong
  3. Taiwan

South America

  1. Argentina
  2. Bolivia
  3. Brazil
  4. Chile
  5. Colombia
  6. Ecuador
  7. Guyana
  8. Peru
  9. Paraguay
  10. Suriname
  11. Uruguay
  12. Venezuela

Ineligible Exports

The following exports categories/sectors do not qualify for the scheme:

  • Products exported from SEZs, EOUs, EHTPs, STPs, BTPs, and FTWZs.
  • The products of SEZs, EOUs, EHTPs, STPs, BTPs and FTWZs exported via DTA units.
  • Export of imported goods (covered under paragraph 2.46 of the FTP).
  • Exports through transhipment.
  • Commodities restricted or forbidden for exports under Schedule 2 of Export Policy in ITC (HS), except on specifications.
  • Export products subject to Minimum Export Price or export duty, except on specifications.
  • Export of goods through courier or foreign post offices by means of e-Commerce.

Mode of Assistance

Funds under the scheme would be rendered in cash through direct bank transfer as part of reimbursement of freight paid. Freight on Board (FOB) supplies where no freight charges are borne by Indian exporters are not covered under this scheme. The scope of assistance varies in accordance with the different regions as notified from time to time.

Assistance wouldn’t be provided for:

  • Less than Container Load (LCL).
  • Containers with both eligible and ineligible category of cargo.
  • Cargos shipped in bulk/break bulk mode.

Scrutinization of Claims

The procedure of scrutiny of claims, the audit of remittances, recovery of ineligible or excess funds, and the interest on such recoveries are determined by the Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT). Any defaults resulting out of such scrutiny would make the defaulter liable for penal action under the provisions of the Foreign Trade (Development and Regulation) Act 1992 and other related provisions.