Section 80G Deduction – Income Tax Act

Home » Learn » Income Tax » Section 80G Deduction – Income Tax Act

Section 80G Deduction – Income Tax Act

Section 80G is a facility available in the Income Tax Act which allows taxpayers to claim deductions for various contributions made as donations. The deduction under the Act is available for contributions made to the specified relief funds and charitable institutions. Not all charitable donations are eligible for deduction under Section 80G. Only donations made to the prescribed funds can qualify as a deduction. The Government of India introduced Section 80G deduction to encourage people to donate. The Government, by providing income tax relief, intends to motivate people to make more donations to worthy causes.

Under Section 80G, the amount donated is allowed to be claimed as a deduction at the time of filing the assessee’s income tax return. Deduction under Section 80G can be claimed by individuals, partnership firms, HUF, company and other types of taxpayers, irrespective of the type of income earned. Trust and institutions registered under Section 80G are provided with a registration number by the Income Tax Department and donors should ensure their receipt contains this number. This registration number needs to be valid on the date of a particular donation. If the donation is made while the Section 80G registration is not valid, then the donation would not be eligible for deduction.

Amount of Deduction under Section 80G

Donations paid towards eligible trusts and charities which qualify for tax deductions are subject to certain conditions. Donations under Section 80G can be broadly classified into four categories. The categories are mentioned below:

Donations with 100% deduction (Available without any qualifying limit)

Donations made under this category can obtain a 100% tax deduction and are not subject to the requirement to achieve any qualification criterion. Donations to the National Defence Fund, Prime Minister’s National Relief Fund, The National Foundation for Communal Harmony, National/State Blood Transfusion Council, etc. qualify for such deductions.

Donations with 50% Deduction (Available without any qualifying limit)

Donations made towards trusts like Prime Minister’s Drought Relief Fund, National Children’s Fund, Indira Gandhi Memorial Fund, etc. qualify for 50% tax deduction on the donated amount.

Donations with 100% deduction (Available up to 10% of adjusted gross total income)

Donations made to local authorities or government to promote family planning and donations to Indian Olympic Association qualify for deductions under this category. In such cases, only 10% of the donor’s Adjusted Gross Total Income is eligible for deductions. Donations which exceed this amount are restricted to 10%.

Donations with 50% deduction (Available up to 10% of adjusted gross total income)

Donations made to any local authority or the government which would then use it for any charitable purpose qualify for deductions under this category. In such cases, only 10% of the donor’s Adjusted Gross Total Income are eligible for deductions. Donations which exceed this amount are capped at 10%.

Adjusted Gross Total Income

The term ‘adjusted gross total income’ refers to the gross total income (which is the summation of income under various heads prior to providing relief under the provisions of Chapter VI-A) as reduced by the following:

  • Amount deductible under Sections 80CCC to 80U (without including Section 80G)
  • Exempt income as per Section 10 of the Act
  • Long-term capital gains
  • Short- term capital gains taxable @15 per cent under section 111A.
  • Income referred to in Sections 115A, 115AB, 115AC, 115AD, pertaining to non-residents and foreign companies.

Know more about donations qualifying for Section 80G deduction.

Documents Required for Claiming a Deduction

Taxpayers claiming deduction under Section 80G must have the following documents to support the claim. 

Donation Receipt

It is mandatory to have a donation receipt issued by the Trust or Charity which received the donation. This receipt should include the following details mandatorily to be valid:

  • Name and address of the Trust or NGO
  • Name of the Donor
  • Amount donated (mentioned in words and figures)
  • Registration number of the Trust, as given by the Income Tax Department under Section 80G along with the period of validity.

Form 58A

Form 58A is required if the taxpayers claims 100% deduction on a donation, without which their donation will not be eligible for 100% deduction. Form58A will be provided only for certain types of eligible deductions.

Form 58A Format
Form 58A Format

Download Form 58A format for Section 80G Deduction

Other Related Guides

Rule 11UAB – Fair Market Value Of Inventory Rule 11UAB - Fair Market Value of Inventory Clause (via) to Section 28 of the Income Tax Act, 1961, was inserted vide the Finance Act, 2018. The said...
Form 28A Form 28A - Income Tax Intimation to the Assessing Officer under section 210(5) regarding the notice of demand under section 156 of the Income-tax Act...
Executor of Will – Taxation Executor of Will - Income Tax An executor is a deceased person's nominee to carry out the instructions of a will or a person appointed by a court, in...
Form 26A Form 26A - Income Tax Form for furnishing accountant certificate under the first proviso to sub-section (1) of section 201 of the Income-tax Act, 196...

Post by

IndiaFilings is India's largest online compliance services platform dedicated to helping people start and grow their business, at an affordable cost. We were started in 2014 with the mission of making it easier for Entrepreneurs to start their business. We have since helped start and operate tens of thousands of businesses by offering a range of business services. Our aim is to help the entrepreneur on the legal and regulatory requirements, and be a partner throughout the business lifecycle, offering support at every stage to ensure the business remains compliant and continually growing.