IndiaFilings » Learn » Udan Yojana-Regional Air Connectivity Scheme

Udan Yojana-Regional Air Connectivity Scheme

Udan Yojana

Udan Yojana – Regional Air Connectivity Scheme

The Indian Government has launched a new scheme called Udan Yojana(Udey Deshka Aam Nagrik) on October 2016 where the main objective is to provide air tickets at a cheaper price. Udan yojana focuses on making flying affordable for the people who want to travel to and from the Tier 2 and Tier 3 cities of the country. By reviving the many airports in Tier 2 and Tier 3 which remain empty, the Government hopes to boost the air travel sector of the country.

Features of Udan Yojana

Under the Udan Yojana scheme, airfare between Tier 2 and Tier 3 cities will be capped at Rs.2500. Flying distance covered by flights operating under the Udan Yojana scheme will be around 500 kilometres. Hence, the air fare will be around Rs.5 per kilometres.

In a flight, around 50% of the total seats must be reserved for the Udan Yojana scheme at the prescribed fares. Further, an airline operating under this scheme must operate atleast 3 flights and there should be a minimum of 7 departures in a week.

Airlines Operating UDAN Flights

Presently, the following airlines are operating UDAN flights.

  • Spice Jet
  • Air Odisha.
  • Airline Allied Services (Alliance Air).
  • Air Deccan.
  • Turbo Megha Airways.

Booking Udan Flight Ticket

Anyone can avail the benefits of the Udan Yojana scheme and purchase low airfare tickets. However, UDAN flight tickets are subject to availability of the tickets under the capped fare.

  • Tickets under the UDAN scheme can be booked online from the above-mentioned airline’s websites.
  • UDAN tickets can also be purchased from websites like MakeMyTrip and Yatra.

Routes under Udan Scheme

S NO From To
1 Bhatinda Delhi
2 Shimla Delhi
3 Kullu Delhi
4 Agra Delhi
5 Pantnagar Delhi
6 Pathankot Delhi
7 Ludhiana Delhi
8 Bikaner Delhi
9 Agra Jaipur
10 Jaisalmer Jaipur
11 Agartala Shillong
12 Aizwal Shillong
13 Dimapur Shilong
14 Imphal Shilong
15 Silchar Shilong
16 Burnpur Kolkata
17 Cooch Behar Kolkata
18 Durgapur Kolkata
19 Jamshedpur Kolkata
20 Rourkela Kolkata
21 Hyderbad Puducherry
22 Salem Puducherry
23 Chennai Puducherry
24 Dilu Ahmedabad
25 Dwarka Ahmedabad
26 Jamnagar Ahmedabad
27 Mundra Ahmedabad
28 Kandla Mumbai
29 Porbandar Mumbai
30 Jalgaon Mumbai
31 Nashik Mumbai
32 Sholapur Mumbai