How to Deposit Service Tax

How to Deposit Service Tax

From 1st October 2014, it has become mandatory to deposit service tax through internet banking. Prior to the requirement for compulsory e-payment, payments were made through

Compulsory E-Payment of Service Tax

The requirement for compulsory e-payment of service tax has been introduced gradually by the service tax department. Initially, the service tax department required those paying Rs.50 lakh or more in service tax to make e-payments. This threshold was then reduced to Rs.10 lakhs in 1-4-2010 and then to Rs.1 lakh in 1-1-2014. Finally, the provisions have been changed and all service tax payments are now required to be made electronically through internet banking facilities from 1-10-2014.

Depositing Service Tax

To deposit service tax, the assessee must first open an internet banking account with one of the banks authorized by the service tax department. Currently, the following banks are authorized to handle service tax payments:

  1. Allahabad Bank
  2. Andhra Bank
  3. AXIS Bank
  4. Bank of Baroda
  5. Bank of India
  6. Bank of Maharashtra
  7. Canara Bank
  8. Central Bank of India
  9. Corporation Bank
  10. Dena Bank
  11. HDFC Bank
  12. ICICI Bank
  13. IDBI Bank
  14. Indian Bank
  15. Indian Overseas Bank
  16. Oriental Bank of Commerce
  17. Punjab & Sind Bank
  18. Punjab National Bank
  19. State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur
  20. State Bank of Hyderabad
  21. State Bank of India
  22. State Bank of Mysore
  23. State Bank of Patiala
  24. State Bank of Travancore
  25. Syndicate Bank
  26. UCO Bank
  27. Union Bank of India
  28. United Bank of India
  29. Vijaya Bank

Once an account is opened, the service tax assessees can access the ACES website and click on the e-payment link to begin the process for depositing service tax. To deposit service tax, the assessee should select the option to pay service tax, complete the online challan and authorise payment by way of debit to the bank account. On successful payment, a copy of the acknowledgement and challans are generated for the records of the service tax assessee.

More on Service Tax

Service Tax Registration is a tax registration required for businesses providing services in India. Service tax registration is an indirect tax wherein the service provider pays the tax and recovers the same from the recipient of the taxable service. At present, Service Tax is levied at 12.3% on the value of the taxable service. This includes Education Cess @ 2% on the service tax amount, and Secondary and Higher Education Cess @ 1% on the service tax amount.

Service Tax registration is mandatory for every person or business in India that has provided a taxable service of value exceeding Rs.9 lakhs, in the previous financial year. Service Tax Registration is required for the identification of the assessee, deposit service tax, file service tax returns and undertakes various processes required under the Finance Act, 1994. Failure to obtain service tax registration would attract penalty in terms of Section 77 of the Finance Act, 1994.

Other Related Guides

Advance Rulings on Service Tax Advance Rulings on Service Tax An applicant can file for advance rulings on service tax if the applicant is setting up a joint venture with a non-res...
Service Tax on Works Contract Service tax on works contract A contract issued to carry out construction, installation, erection repair, renovation, maintenance, alteration of any ...
Common Service Tax Mistakes Common Service Tax Mistakes Service tax registration and filing of service tax returns is mandatory for those service providers providing taxable ser...
What is service tax in India What is Service Tax in India What is service tax? A service provider who extends his services in any form of business such as consulting, software d...
Basics of Service Tax Basics of Service Tax The basic concepts of service tax is reviewed by Mr. S. Jaikumar, Advocate and Country Head of Swamy Associates. The concepts r...

Post by IndiaFilings is committed to helping entrepreneurs and small business owners start, manage and grow their business with peace of mind at an affordable price. Our aim is to educate the entrepreneur on the legal and regulatory requirements and be a partner throughout the entire business life cycle, offering support to the company at every stage to make sure they are compliant and continually growing.